Uncategorized

Slowing down.

Having a sick child can throw everything out of gear. In December I had two grown up daughter who were sick, a grandson who was sick and all this in the middle of a family wedding and another family get together! It was no wonder then that I finally fell sick myself and slept through the whole of yesterday………with the hope of recovering faster than normal

Reflections, wonderings, wandering thoughts.

I’ve had sick kids the last few days. Sick kids means kids at home, means time spent getting water and fixing blankets and cuddling up on the couch. It’s wonderful, but at the back of my mind I’m still aware of the chores and the to do lists and the things I had planned to get done that just don’t seem to happen when there are kids in the house.

I admit I don’t always make the best nurse in these times. I tend to get anxious about what isn’t happening. I feel frustrated and put upon and am constantly going through the lists in my head and trying to figure out how to shuffle things around so it will all get done.

I tried a different approach this time. I cleared my schedule. I sat on the couch with my daughter’s head in my lap. I nurtured her. I…

View original post 106 more words

Leave a Reply

